A Weekend in Brisbane 

Since we last spoke from Byron bay I travelled up the east coast to surfers paradise, however it was not my idea of paradise at all so after less than 48hrs I moved on to the city of Brisbane. Brisbane on the other hand I have thoroughly enjoyed despite only spending a few days here I packed the sights in as much as possible, here’s what I got up to…


Day one – I arrived at lunchtime and spent the afternoon exploring queen street and Brisbanes main shopping area. Here you’ll find all you main high street shops as well as a couple of massive department stores. It won’t come as a surprise to any of you who know me I was straight into the lush shop as soon as I saw it I just can’t help myself!  Then I explored the city botanical gardens for the rest of the afternoon. 

Day two – Markets! I spent Saturday morning exploring markets in the west end and south bank. The south bank market at Stanly Street plaza was small but filed with lovely bits and pieces. After that I walked out to the west end to go to a farmers market in Davies park. This was my favourite market of the day packed with fresh fruits and veg as well as fish and meats and several street food stalls too I bought sweetcorn, passion fruits and tomatoes from several stalls and all were delicious and fresh. The afternoon followed with a walk along south bank exploring the sights such as the lagoon pool the flower archways and wonderful views across the cbd. I must have walked about 15km that day at least! 

Day three – Mt Coot-tha and Brisbane planetarium, this was my favourite day in Brisbane, I packed so much in that I have written a whole blog post of its own coming tomorrow so look out for that…

Next stop, Noosa I’m really looking forward to small town vibes and time to explore the national park and secluded beaches! 

Leave a Reply

