Throw Back Thursday: The time I stayed in a Castle

For todays post we’re going back to this time last year when I had so much fun being a princess for the week, running up and down the spiral staircases of my very own castle.

Myself and my family spent the week in Scotland for my Grandmas 80th birthday celebrations and to make it extra special we decided to rent a 16th century castle a few miles outside of Edinburgh.

IMG_0541

The castle has 7 bedrooms, all individually named and most with their own en suites . I stayed in the smallest room of the castle but it was still luxurious and more than comfortable. I mean seriously check out this photo of my bathroom!

IMG_0543

The Great Hall and Library are at the heart of the castle featuring a large fireplace, impressive paintings and copious amounts of chocolate (maybe thats just because I was there).  The library is packed with books, dvds and games if you’re not blessed with weather as nice as when we stayed but who couldn’t use a library with a built in bar any day of the year?

2016-03-30 19.02.37 (2).jpg

The dinning room is perfect for big family get togethers and humongus feasts (I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much in my life!) It even has its own suit of arms and silver plates.  How cool is that?

IMG_0539

The castle also comes with a dressing up box so you can seriously get into the medieval spirt and embrace your inner princess, do you ever grow out of dressing up?

12112517_10206634653568135_3124748366654144751_n

IMG_0513

Each room has personalised stationary for any of you wanting to write a letter Jane Austen style. The kitchen and dinning room are fully stocked (ice machine included ready for your cocktails when you arrive). And to top it all of the wifi is pretty great for those not wanting to completely travel back in time, (or if like me you have to work on your final university project).

IMG_0478

The view from my bedroom

Whilst your in the area if you can bare to leave your castle behind for the day why not go on a whiskey tour in one of the local distilleries, explore the historic city of Edinburgh or simply wander the land surrounding your castle. I had the best time staying here!

signt

For more information on the castle visit Fenton Tower


images     facebook1 copy     pinterest-4-512

One thought on “Throw Back Thursday: The time I stayed in a Castle

Leave a Reply

