My Top 6 natural hair care tips

I’m not one for putting hundreds of products in my hair, not only is that extremely damaging but I’m yet to find a range of products that doesn’t alter my hairs texture, leaving it not so soft and more like that crunchy feeling grass gets after a frost. I much prefer taking a natural approach to my hair care routine and I can’t tell you how much healthier and longer my hair has been since I stated following these six tips on a regular basis.

1.Coconut oil – Want super soft locks? This ones for you. I love coconut oil for everything it has so many uses but this is without a doubt my favourite. Warm the coconut oil in your hands to melt it a little before running through the lengths of your hair. I usually leave this in for a hour or so but the longer the better you could even leave it overnight if you are a morning hairwasher (don’t forget to protect your pillow with a towel though). Once its been in for a while wash and condition your hair as normal, when it dries it’ll feel luxuriously soft. Your welcome.

2. Lemon juice – now this one’s for all you blondes out there. Do you ever feel like your hair is looking a little dull,  maybe its darkened over the winter, or in my case got a green tinge from swimming in chlorinated pools? Lemon juice is the answer. I pour some on with my conditioner (not too much mind unless you want to smell of lemons) and leave it for a few minutes before rinsing out as normal. Doing this regularly will keep your hair at its blondest. For a more intense treatment you can put lemon on your hair before sitting out in the sun for a while, enhancing the suns natural bleaching effect.

3. Conditioning – Now I’ve used conditioner for years, its the only way I’ll get a brush through my hair, but only in the last few years have I started using it to its full potential. The longer you leave your conditioner in the more it’s going to do for you, I would say I leave mine in for at least five minutes every time another top tip is to comb your hair while the conditioner is in this will distribute the product through your hair better and save tugging at wet hair after.

4. Argan oil – This is another of my favourite tips it will leave your hair so soft and unbelievably shiny. After washing apply just a couple of drops to the palm of your hand and rub them together. Distribute this through the very ends of your hair starting from the bottom and working upwards. Comb your hair through and leave to dry or use a hairdryer the choice is yours either way your hair will shine in a way it never has before.

5. Go heat free – I can’t tell you enough how much going heat free has done for my hair, its healthier, longer and looks so much better than before. Now I’m not telling you you can never use a hairdryer or a straightener ever again I’m just saying to avoid using them on a regular basis. There was a time I wouldn’t leave the house until I’d scorched my hair to within an inch of its life on a daily basis. Not only did this look terrible but it left my hair so damaged that on days I didn’t style it I looked like a ball of frizz. Since I stopped using heat a little over two and half years ago my hair has embraced its natural waves as well as growing so much faster, it no longer feels thin and damaged. I rarely ever style my hair except occasionally running a brush though every now and then.

6. Washing as little as possible – Not only will this save you time in your weekly schedule but it will also improve your hair. When we wash our hair with tough products like shampoo not only do we strip away the dirt but also the natural oils in our hair. Overwashing can not only damage your hair but also waist your time, I find the more often I wash my hair the quicker it gets dirty. Nobody wants to be stranded on a desert island and have greasy hair after just one day do they? How often you should wash your hair is a personal judgment, I only wash mine twice a week. I would advise transitioning slowly by just leaving one extra day between washes until your hair is used to it.

I hope some of these tips can help you out, they’ve certainly worked miracles for me over the past year or so. Let me know how you get on if you try any these out.

signt

Leave a Reply

